Subsignal, originally intended as a side project, was founded in 2007 by the former Sieges Even members Arno Menses (Vocals) and Markus Steffen (Guitars). The first result of this collaboration was the song “A Wallflower On The Day Of Saint Juliana”, which made its way to the 2007 Sieges Even album Paramount under the title “Eyes Wide Open”.

After Arno Menses and Markus Steffen left Sieges Even in summer 2008, they were looking for adequate musicians to turn Subsignal into a real and functional band. The first guy to join the new outfit was bass player Ralf Schwager, known for his work with German prog band Dreamscape. The line-up was completed with drummer Roel van Helden, known for his collaboration with Dutch band Sun Caged, and Dreamscape‘s David Bertok on keyboards.

Subsignal define themselves as a progressive rock band, which is open to different styles and genres (e.g. AOR, metal, etc.). They describe their music as melancholic, innovative, emotional and highly melodic. Arno and Markus aim to tie in with Subsignal to where Sieges Even stopped, with the difference of being more open, musically, and showing a stronger presence on stage.

In April 2009 the band signed a record contract with German label ZYX Records.

Subsignal have recorded their first CD in spring 2009, with producer Kristian Kohlmannnslehner who was also responsible for Sieges Even‘s Paramount album. The album was entitled Beautiful and Monstrous and contained 10 tracks.

Subsignal played some tours in support of the album with bands like Saga and German krautrock legends Jane, as well as several solo concerts throughout Europe.

The second album, entitled Touchstones, was recorded in early 2011 and was released in October 2011 via ZYX Records. It hit the German Media Control Charts at # 53.

Drummer Roel van Helden left the band for personal reasons in Winter 2011 and was replaced by Danilo Batdorf. Danilo is already featured on the latest Subsignal-release, the DVD ‘Out There Must Be Something – Live in Mannheim 2012′ which will be released in November 2012.


Markus Steffen (guitars, additional programming)
Arno Menses (vocals)
David Bertok (keyboards)
Ralf Schwager (bass)
Danilo Batdorf (drums)

Official site: http://www.subsignalband.comFacebook: