Magic Pie

Magic Pie began taking shape during the autumn of 2001. The members – Kim Stenberg (Guitars/Vocals), Gilbert Marshall (Keyboard/Vocals), Eirik Hanssen (Vocals), Jan Torkild Johannessen (Drums) and John “Mini” Kamphaug (Bass) – came from a wide variety of musical backgrounds, with each previously having played in several bands and projects of different genres.


Although the band started out playing cover songs alongside some original material, they soon heeded suggestions to cut the covers out completely and concentrate on writing their own songs. This proved to be a major turning point, and really set the band into work mode.

During 2001 – 2004, Lars Petter Holstad replaced John “Mini” Kamphaug on bass, while Allan Olsen came on board as the third lead vocalist, bringing a powerful voice to the table.

The intention was to create a “progressive” sound texture in the spirit of the `70´s, blending musical tendencies from that decade and today´s “progressive” scene.

Linking the band members together is their mutual love for listening to bands and artists considered a little to the “side” of `80´s & `90´s mainstream rock, as well as their using the great musical “revolution” of the `70’s as a source of inspiration.

Magic Pie never set out to make songs with a specific sound, and was never interested in trying to copy someone else´s style and signature. Instead they have tried to extract the different musical and instrumental influences buried inside each member.

The debut album “Motions Of Desire” was released in 2005 and was very well received by both the public and the press. This album really set Magic Pie on the map, and they became a household name for prog fans around the world with their blend of classic prog, 70´s hard rock, and progressive metal.

The band followed the success of “Motions Of Desire” with the release of their second album, “Circus of Life,” in 2007. They opted for a concept album, aiming to bring the heritage from the previous album a step further. “Circus Of Life” won several polls as “album of the year.”

In 2011, Magic Pie released their third album, “The Suffering Joy,” another concept album bringing the band a step upwards. This album instituted the first radical change in the band’s musical expression by introducing Eirikur Hauksson (Artch, Ken Hensley) as the new lead singer, replacing Allan Olsen. This talented Icelandic/Norwegian singer brought a much-needed frontman to the band, and the album consequently presented a more mature and cohesive Magic Pie with perhaps a harder edge.

After their 3rd album Magic Pie decided it was time for a another serious change, due to Gilbert Marshall leaving the band in 2012, as well as a desire and need for a wider horizon and larger footprint in the progressive rock segment. As a result, Erling Henanger acquired the keyboards, and Magic Pie signed with the Norwegian company Karisma Records.

In 2015 the band released their 4th album “King for a Day,” and with their new record company they were also able to finally release their first and long-awaited Vinyl/LP. The album was mixed and mastered by Rich Mouser (Neal Morse, Transatlantic, Spock´s Beard) to ensure the songs and overall sound would reach their full potential – another big step for Magic Pie. The song “Trick Of The Trade” was chosen as the first single & video, and fans and critics alike praised the album as the strongest Magic Pie has released to date.

With newcomer Erling Henanger on the keyboards, the band has never sounded as fit – whether it’s in the studio or live.

Magic Pie can’t wait to get on stage at ROSfest in May 2016!

Present members

Kim Stenberg: guitar, backing vocals (2001 – present)
Eirik Hanssen: acoustic guitar, lead/backing vocals (2001 – present)
Jan Torkild Johannessen: drums, percussion (2001 – present)
Lars Petter Holstad: bass, backing vocals (June 2003 – present)
Eirikur Hauksson: guitar, lead/backing vocals (Dec 2007 – present)
Erling Henanger: synthesizers/keyboards, backing vocals (Nov 2012 – present)

Former members

Allan Olsen: guitar, lead/backing vocals (2004 – Dec 2007)
Gilbert Marshall: lead/backing vocals, synthesizers/keyboards (2001 – Aug 2012)
John Kamphaug: bass guitar, backing vocals (2001 – June 2003)
Magic Pie official website:

Magic Pie Facebook:


Official video “Trick of the Trade” (2015)

Full album “The Suffering Joy” (2011)

Full album “Circus of Life” (2007):

Full album “Motions of Desire” (2005):