Moon Safari


The Swedish progressive rock band Moon Safari has grown into one of the more established and time-tested bands in the genre. Since their formation in 2003, they have put out four studio albums; A Doorway to Summer (2005), Blomljud (2008), Loverʼs End (2010) and Himlabacken Vol. 1(2013). In addition, two live albums; The Gettysburg Address (2012), Live in Mexico (2014) and one EP release of the 25-minute epic hometown love song Loverʼs End Pt.3 – Skellefteå Serenade (2012). All Moon Safari music is released on their own label Blomljud Inc.

For over a decade, Moon Safari has established a devoted following with festival appearances and headlining tours across Scandinavia, mainland Europe, the U.K, the U.S, Mexico, the Caribbean (Cruise to the Edge 2014, 2015) and Japan. Arguably the most noteworthy of Moon Safari performances to date, took place recently as the band opened for Yes at Londonʼs Royal Albert Hall on May 10 2016.


After the 2015 change in line-up where original drummer Tobias Lundgren was replaced by Mikael Israelsson (previously of Black Bonzo), Moon Safari is now writing and recording the follow up to Himlabacken Vol.1.

The recording and touring line-up of Moon Safari consists of Petter Sandström (lead voc, guitar), Simon Åkesson (lead voc, lead keys), Pontus Åkesson (lead guitar), Sebastian Åkesson (keys), Johan Westerlund (bass guitar) and Mikael Israelsson (drums).

Discography – Studio albums
A Doorway to Summer (2005)
Blomljud (2008)
Lover’s End (2010)
Himlabacken Vol. 1 (2013)

Lover’s End Pt. III: Skellefteå Serenade (2012)

Live albums
The Gettysburg Address (2012)
Live in Mexico (2014)

Moon Safari Facebook –
Moon Safari Official –
Twitter Profile –
You tube Channel –